top of page

"Still Life" - David Lyu

Updated: Jan 8, 2021




About the Artwork 作品介绍


These two pieces of artwork are ones that I drew in the early stages of learning oil painting. Both paintings include fruit with lining cloth underneath. The difficulty lies in creating space and manifesting the effect of light and shadow reflected on the fruit and lining cloth. I played around with the variance in shade, highlight and contour to capture the three-dimensional effect of each object. The tone of the whole painting is warm so that it draws the audience closer, since warm color tones usually convey a more welcoming atmosphere. It also helps in constructing a sense of temptation to eat the fruit.


这两幅油画都是我在学习初期画的作品。两幅画的内容都是水果加上衬布,难点就在于体现出空间感和水果与衬布的光影效果。我用颜色深浅变化、高光、阴影来体现每个物体的立体感。两幅画的色调偏暖,因为暖色调能更加吸引观众,也不会让有冷冰冰和水果坏掉了的感觉。



Artist 画家


Name: David Lyu

Grade: 9

School: Cranbrook School


姓名:吕士奇

年级:9

就读学校:克瑞布鲁克中学



About the Artist 关于


I am an incoming freshman at Cranbrook Schools, and I like to try new things as my hobby:) I worked with crayons and pencil when I was 5. At that time I fell in love with expressing my feelings on the drawing board. Unfortunately, I gave up because of time and didn't pick up my paintings until last year. Now, I paint just for fun and I hope to bring others happiness through painting!


我是一位在克瑞布鲁克中学的高中生,平常喜欢每样东西都试一试。在5岁时我第一次接触到了蜡笔和铅笔画,当时懵懂的我马上喜欢上了在画板上抒发自己情绪的感觉,可惜中间因为时间原因放弃,直到去年才把画画重新捡起来。现在的我画画完全是出于兴趣,同时也希望以这种方式给大家带来快乐。



Thanks for reading!

Click the link below and donate to the children diagnosed with congenital heart disease! Every donation will be directly used to help them!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page