top of page

"Glasses" Original Monologue by Jackie Huang



(Actress/Actor may begin upstage or center stage, props are optional)

Genre: Dramatic


I have terrible vision. I’ve always had a terrible vision. When I was 7, my mother took me to the optometrist, and they had the little reading charts with E’s plastered all over. (Sweetly) “Point to the right direction” she would say. (Laughs) How would I know? I could barely tell left from right. (Lowers voice to a loud whisper) Those E’s were like tiny claws that touched me, scratched me, and only left me with my mother’s disappointing face after realizing my vision decreased again. So we decided to get a pair of glasses. (Picks up prop glasses)(Moves downstage right) My first one was rectangular and brown. (Joyful) I liked them at first, (Serious) until I looked through them and realized they made my thighs look like swollen sausages, the kind they only sell in bulk at Costco. So I spent three nights drawing little flowers to cover up the weird edges. (Speaks fast and anxious) But they were too small, the colors were too light, the petals were crooked, (pace slows down, enunciate words) and I could only focus on the skin on my belly rolling into layers one on top of the other, like a thick and heavy blanket that draped down to my ankles. (Taps ankles) I guess that's why long dresses don’t like me - because I already have my own. (Walks) I refused to wear glasses, and my mother took me back to the optometrist a couple of weeks later. (Stops walking) My vision dropped even lower. She was really mad at me. (Saddened) So I said I was sorry that I always stuck my eyes so close into computer screens until I couldn't take the burning feeling. (Move downstage, stares at the audience) But I still refuse to wear glasses. (Pauses) I refuse because it's nice that you only see blurs of everything. (Pauses) I refuse because I can’t make out what new places the eyes of other people are staring at. (Pauses) I refuse because the reflection in my mirror will finally remain as a blur.


Author:

Name: Jackie Huang

Grade: 10

About me: I like theater and writing stuff. Currently obsessed with monologues.


作者:

姓名:Jackie Huang

年级:10

简介:喜欢写作和戏剧。目前沉迷于独白。


About the Piece

Theme: Body Image

Definition of Glasses : Seeing through a perception solely based on the widespread beauty standards within society.

Sometimes we will rather erase ourselves than face the reflection in the mirror. STOP BODY SHAMING!!!


关于作品

主题:身材

眼镜的定义:仅通过社会的容貌标准来感知和观察

有时候我们宁愿抹掉自己,也不愿面对镜子里的景象



Thanks for reading!

Click the link below and donate to the children diagnosed with congenital heart disease! Every donation will be directly used to help them!


418 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page