top of page

“Where I'm From" - Ric Guan

Updated: Jan 8, 2021



I’m from the pool 

        From the chlorine and the dry skin 

        To the blue waves shimmering under the bright light 

I’m from the black line below that guided me over and over again 

        From the soundless underwater and the numbers jumping split-seconds on the timer 

        To the place where no fish would swim with blue tiles all around 

I’m from the ice rink 

        From the smells of rubber and changing rooms full of skunks 

        To the white ice where I skate, unafraid. 

I’m from the glistening steels that slide and blind your eyes 

        From the stick chippings and the puck blockings 

        To the echoing whistles and the howling winds across your ears 

I’m from Beijing 

        From the heavy traffic to the fancy towers 

        The speedwalking people to the non-stop phone calls 

I’m from the tall pillared temples that stand above all 

        From the Peking ducks that I devour and the hot pots adorned with flower 

        To the friendships and kinships that will never sever 

I’m from The Hill 

        From the warm yellow lights surrounding the room 

        To the comfy beds and sofa that cuddles me in the gloom 

I’m from the blue skies to the bricked buildings 

        From the tarmacked road that leads to the halls of knowledge 

        And the steep hills with the quacking geese 

I’m from the stage 

        From the drums that make loud noises 

        To the crashes and rides that pierce through the air 

I’m from the sticks that keep tempos to the room 

        From the scores with jumping notes to the beats I always skipped 

        And to the cowbell that made its glory on stage 

I’m from my family 

        From the no fighting on weekends 

        To the succulent dishes that made my day 

I’m from the living room where I play games with my brother 

        From our phones to the Xbox, from cards to the Legos 

        And where I’m supported for my aspirations.



Author 作者


Name: Ric Yang

Grade: 10

School: The Hill School

姓名:关天宇

年级:10

就读学校:希尔中学


About 作品介绍


This is a poem about myself that I’ve created in my English class. This was completed through vivid descriptions of some of my favorite things and people. During the process of planning and writing, I was also able to better understand my inner self as well as the things that matters to me. Inspirations often come from the most simple and common things and actions that we have repeated over and over again everyday, those actions and routines often determine how we view this world. I hope after reading this poem, you have a better understanding of my life.

这是在学校英语课上写的一篇关于自己的诗。通过描绘一些对我很重要的人事写成的这首诗,写作过程也让我更加了解自己内心的世界。灵感往往来源于生活中最简单,普通的一些事情,那些我们已经习以为常的做事方法往往决定了我们看待这个世界的方式,希望读完之后可以让你们对我的生活有一个了解。



Thanks for reading!

Click the link below and donate to the children diagnosed with congenital heart disease! Every donation will be directly used to help them!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page